christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

F * R * I * E * N * D * S

The first time I watched the show, I fell in love with it. The episode was "The One With Ross's wedding". I laughed my ass off and acknowledged the clever cliffhangers that it leaves you. This was actually my second time recognizing Matthew Perry. The first is when I saw him in Fools Rush In. I loved his humor. His ability to deliver one liners are just too funny to miss. He became my favorite out of all the characters. His relationship with Monica became almost more romantic than any of my relationships...no offense to anyone.

My favorite episode was "The One With The Proposal", in which Chandler has a plan to propose to Monica, but gets interrupted by the appearance of Monica's ex, Richard. Richard tells Monica that he is still in love with her, and she becomes questionable about her relationship with Chandler. Chandler tries to convince Monica that he'll never marry to make the proposal an even bigger surprise, which makes Monica even more trivial about their relationship. When Chandler finds out that Richard is still involved, he tells Richard that he intended to propose, and Richard encourages him to go for it. When all hope seems lost for Chandler, he comes home to find a room full of candles, with Monica waiting in the living room, where she begins to propose to him. Minutes later, they get engaged. I have to admit that this episode made me teary eyed....ok...so I cried like a bitch with a skinned knee. After seeing this episode, I became an avid watcher from Season 7 until now, missing only one episode on a Thursday, but redeeming it during the off season.

This show is like a getaway for me. A lot of times, if I have something really bothering me...I'll watch an episode to make myself feel better, and believe me...it's done so much. I could be cowering on the floor in tears because of some heartbreak...or because of a fight with my father...and still be taken away to serenity with 22 minutes of the show. I know it seems kind of weird and creepy to be this obssessed with the show. I've learned now that I've become more obssessed with this than Batman, Star Wars, and even Dave Matthews Band. I have two life long dreams in my life. One I am fulfilling in September and the other, I can never have. The first one was to see DMB in concert, which I will be at the Gorge...I already have my tickets. But the second and most important is to be an audience member during a filming of an episode. With the season soon ending, and the final episodes already filmed...I can't have this dream come true.

I wanted to write this entry in dedication to the show because of everything it has done for me. I still can't believe that a Thursday night sitcom has become my theraputic getaway. Soon, the show will be over, and I become more fearful that if I have another conflict, I won't have anything to turn to, except for all of the seasons on DVD. Thursday night has become my own sabbath day, in respects to NBC. Every Thursday night, I'll sit on the couch and wait for "I'll Be There For You" by the Rembrandts. I hope that in the next years I will be able to rely on myself for comfort, and still have the entire series to look back on. Next year, be sure to watch for "Joey" on NBC!

The last three episodes start this week.

Facts....

The famous fountain scene - with the entire cast dancing in the fountain - was filmed at the Warner Bros Studio in Los Angeles at 5:00 in the morning

It takes 30,000 ft of 35mm film to produce one episode of the show.

Jennifer Anniston was upset with Courtney Cox for dating her ex without telling her

Matthew Perry dated Julia Roberts after her guest appearance on "The One After The Super Bowl"

The entire cast have become closest friends throughout the ten years

Monica and Joey's fridges actually work on the set.

The monkey that played Marcel was the monkey in Outbreak

It takes 36,000 watts of electricity - the amount needed to pwer 12 large homes - to film one episode

Each script goes through 3 to 5 drafts. Jokes are often rewritten during filming based on the audience's reactions

Not only does the studio get to watch the filming, they are treated to pizza - 85 pizzas are brought in for the 300 audience members

When Matthew Perry checks into a hotel, he registers under the name of Abe Flamon

Ross' wife Emily was pregnant in real-life when the show began. As she progressed, they filmed her from the waist up.

Both Jennifer Aniston and David Schwimmer have directed episodes of the show

The artwork displayed in Central Perk changes every three episodes. Artists sometimes create special pieces just for the show

It takes a lot of extra people to fill up the locations, using from 30 to 50 extras

The cast often play poker and Scrabble together

The apartments were later confessed as too nice for the characters and that they never could have afforded them on the salaries they made.

Gunther was actually hired as an extra, only because he was the only one that could work the Cappuccino machine

One of the crew members does the drawing on the magna doodle haning on Joey and Chandlers door. After being overused and worn out, they had to rely on eBay to find a new one

Pheobe has sung over 25 songs

At Chandler and Monica's wedding, the last name of the Greek couple having the wedding was Anastassakis - Jennifer Aniston's actual last name

Carol's obstetrican was played by Jonathan Silverman who just happens to be David Schwimmer's best friend

The first female cast member that Matthew Perry ever kissed was Jennifer Aniston - not Courtney Cox

Chandler and Joey's apartment started as apt #4 with Monica and Rachel's being #5. In the later episodes, they become #19 and #20 respectively

The opening sequence is redone every 12 episodes to keep it looking just a little different

Matthew Perry was admitted into rehab for an addiction to alcohol and vicodin, hospitalized for what doctors thought was stomach cancer, and ended up being pancreitus, was again admitted to a hospital after a binge of consuming alcohol, cocaine, ecstacy, vicodin, compazine, neurotin, zofran, and vioxx, and now is complety sober with occasional moments of drinking with friends

David Schwimmer was orginally offered Will Smith's role in Men In Black, but turned it down when offered a role in Kissing a Fool that starred his old acting school buddies

Some of the best one liners....

Joey: You waited too long to make your move and now you're in the "Friends Zone"

Ross: No, no, no. I'm not in "The Zone"

Joey: No, Ross! You're Mayor of "The Zone"

------

Chandler: YOu know that thing, when you and I talk to each other about things?

Joey: Yeah

Chandler: Let's not do that anymore

------

Joey: I brought all the supplies we need just in case we got stuck here again

Chandler: A box of condoms?

Joey: Yeah, you don't know how long we're going to be here. We might need to repopulate the earth.

Chandler: And condoms are the way to do that?

------

Pheobe: You know what? If we were in prison, you guys would be like, my bitches

------

Ross: I'm watching this rugby thing on ESPN. I don't know what the big deal is. I'm man enough to play this sport.

Joey: Dude, you're not even man enough to order the channel that carries this sport

------

Chandler: Oh, yes. And that's what I want. A roommate I can walk around with and be referred to as, the funny one.

------

Chandler: She makes the women I dream about look like short, fat, bald men.

------

Joey: Why do you have to break up with her? Be a man, just stop calling

------

Chandler: Up until I was twenty-five, I thought the only response to "I love you" was "Oh crap".

------

Chandler: So I took the quiz, and it turns out I do put career before men

9:18 p.m. - 2004-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi