christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Up Up Down Down Left Right Left Right B A Start

There are so many things that put me through such a wonderful experience. It's obvious that I love movies and everything involved with making them, so much so that I want to have a career in them. I love food, sex. But not food with sex, oddly enough. I love comic books, sci fi, fantasy, or pretty much anything uber geek.

And I sure do love me some video games. And the ones I love the most are the ones that make me feel like a kid again. The first kinds in that categories are the retros like Blaster Master and Battletoads, and other NES classics. Things from the Sega and Super, 64 and all emulations of those systems bring me back to when I was sitting on my brother's floor, bouncing up and down on the carpet eagerly awaiting my turn at Mario. And when the controller was finally handed to me, man alive I was invigorated! Other games that bring me back to that once tiny mindset are the ones that make me feel like the characters that I idolized at that age. I've been playing the latest Batman game like there's no tomorrow and am filled with wonderment when I'm gliding across Gotham looking for trouble. Seeing the shine off of the cowl ride up to the ears, I'm thinking... I'm fucking Batman!

And as much as I love Batman, it's surprising even to me that my greatest video game experience of all time was actually playing the Ghostbusters video game on PS3. Throughout the gameplay, I'm not only interacting with Venkman, Stantz, Spengler, and Zeddemore, but I'm watching the glowing and blinking lights from the proton pack on my character's back. I swear, I was playing that game as the 6yo who was wearing a backpack and holding a baseball bat and pretending to catch Slimer in the trap.

I guess I'm just really happy that I never got into sports or the social norm and spent my life doing geeky things. Makes me feel good.

12:06 a.m. - 2011-10-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi