christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some fat kid ate my kidney

My band has been searching for a new drummer for some time now, and it seems that the Boise, Nampa, Caldwell area is severely lacking in its abilities to produce genuine talent. We've spoken to a few different responders from our craigslist ad and two of them just didn't cut it. The third said his name was Styxxx.... enough said.

The frustration comes from either their misinterpretation of what we're looking for, or their misrepresentation of themselves. We've stated that we're looking for technical drummers, and the music certainly speaks to that, and yet they still ask us, "What's a blast beat?" Two guitarists and a singer are instructing these cats on drum techniques. It's hard enough playing the same riff over and over and hearing the candidate repeatedly struggle, as if our advice goes in one ear and out the other.

Fortunately, there could be a possibility that our original drummer might return. It has actually been since July that we've had a show, and I think just a month shy less that we've actually all played together. Davin sold his gear to pay off bills, I've been looking for drummers and working, Steven's been going to school and working, and Trevor is living his life. It seemed pointless to get together with instruments without a fifth member to complete the jam, but I've found that neglecting getting together was a mistake. It had actually been close to three months since I've seen Steven before today, and I don't like that disconnect between us guys. However, we still picked up like there was no hiatus at all.

If we could get Brandon back on board, we could start right away on new material, working on getting the EP duplicated, and actually do a release show. Thinking about it makes me giddy, so I'll try and show a bit of restraint.

I've mapped out nightly itineraries to help me produce more creativity and focus less on procrastination. I'm putting structure and discipline in my life finally, and I'm hoping to turn around my poor self esteem. I'm eating healthy, exercising, and putting my bullshit behind me. When I tried this before, I felt elated and empowered. Now, I don't want to let myself feel that way, rather, put determination ahead of some stupid sense of mediocre accomplishment. I'm not achieving anything by starting, it's the continuing progress that'll get me somewhere. So until I see real results with my life, I'm not celebrating.

The podcast was a no go. I tried contacting Steve repeatedly during the week but got nothing. Mike was unavailable, and I didn't want to start with some random person. We'll try again this Saturday, and hopefully have something to download the week after.

I really want this to happen.

3:26 a.m. - 2012-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi