christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I'm the Blue Raja. I'm not Stab Man, I'm not Knifey Boy, I'm the Blue Raja.

I've rediscovered something marvelous about my youth and it's affinity for made for TV Disney films involving robots or androids, specifically when they inadvertently relate to Growing Pains, apparently. The most prominent of these was a trilogy of flicks based on a series of young adult novels called "Not Quite Human". I was surfing around on the net when suddenly I had this image of me watching Tv and remembering Alan Thicke in an abundance of movies involving him and his android son, Chip. I remember nights when a marathon would play, showing "Not Quite Human", "Not Quite Human II", and "Still Not Quite Human". Remember the famous scene when Chip and his friend are debating on who should take a girl to the dance, and the friend says, "We'll flip for it", which you shouldn't suggest to a creation that isn't bound by the laws of human physics, considering he actually flips in the air! Jesus!!!!! ABC's Wonderful World of Disney has tugged on my heartstrings!

I even remember an older film, also starring Alan Thicke where his soul gets trapped in a robot that looks like a mix between an Astro Droid and Vincent from The Black Hole. And the latest of these was The Computer Who Wore Tennis Shoes starring Kirk Cameron. He typed a map for college assignment. Oscar for Best Original Screenplay?

I don't know why this suddenly consumed my morning, but it was pleasant to remember. I also remember watching the Disney channel with my brother, specifically when A Goofy Movie would come on. The most amusement came from the compound of Bigfoot and the walkman.

It makes me compare what kind of kid I was. There were your Nickelodeon kids and you're Disney Channel kids. I, myself, never really like Hey Arnold or Rugrats, but did enjoy Rocko's Modern Life, AAAHH! Real Monsters, Ren and Stimpy, All That, and Are You Afraid of the Dark. Sometimes I watched Clarissa Explains It All and The Secret World of Alex Mack, but rejected a very important staple of the channel: The Adventures of Pete and Pete. When I told people this, it was as if I was comitting blasphemy.

Now, the Disney Channel didn't have much to offer in it's place. Aside from some decent made-for-TV movies like Brink, Wish Upon A Star, and The Paper Brigade, there weren't really any shows that were successful into I was a teenager and moved on from such childish entertainment. So I can't really say that I was partisan to one channel or the other. In fact, I think I remember only watching said channels when there weren't any interesting movies on HBO.

This Saturday is the auditions, so I hope to have some news by the time I write another entry. My plans for the week are to jam more with the band to further perfect our setlist, and also try and get my wife to have sex with me in her new lingerie. We'll see.

5:42 a.m. - 2012-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi