christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

7 Movies in 16 hours

Star's gone for the weekend, Katie is working, and Noah is staying the night at a friend's. I poured myself a small glace of whiskey and started cleaning the house. I made a bomb ass dinner of chicken and veggies, and now I'm going through old band videos on my computer, and editing them together so I can burn them to dvd and show the guys at a barbecue or something.

I should be working, seeing as how I'm mostly going to be wasting the night playing video games and jerking off. I need to save money for my trip to Seattle in April. Steve and I are celebrating his birthday by attending the ECCC. This will be my fourth visit to see him in two years, and every time it puts me right back to high school. He makes me feel youthful by humoring me with our incredibly pointless and nerdy conversations, to us trying to make each other laugh at the slightest provocation. The last time I was there, Star came with me and we celebrated our fourth wedding anniversary.

We had a blast, Star and I. We walked the streets, high from all the legal weed, frivolously spending our money for once. Had long conversations, explored together... it was pretty amazing.

I actually passed out on Steven's floor. We brought an air mattress to sleep on in his guest bedroom in his apartment. This thing is tremendous, easily accommodating the two of us, and requires a manual pump to blow it up. We have an electric one, but we left it at home. I worked the night before, my shift finishing around 7 am, and we left Caldwell not long after, with me handling most of the driving. That, combined with insufficient food and water along the trip, and an incredibly rigorous process of inflating this fucker (not to mention being really out of shape), I was so overwhelmingly depleted that by the time we got down to the kitchen floor, I lied down to catch my breath and awoke to Star and Steve staring down at me, yelling my name. They got me up to the table, gave me some water, and talked me through consciousness. Until I fell out of it again, almost falling out of the chair. Again, to the two of them yelling my name, and this time, Starla slapping my face, I awake to find them dialing 911. I was in agreement with them.

I was fine. By the time the paramedics got to the apartment, I was feeling a million times better. I opted not to go to the hospital after they told me my vitals, and we ended up still enjoying the rest of the day. It was humorous, but at the time, Starla got so scared, it was all she could do to contain her tears in front of the medics. She hugged me for a long time, in front of Steven, telling her how much I freaked her out. It's indescribable, the feeling I had at that moment. Being loved and cared for. My wife and I are a lot better at articulating those kinds of feelings.

Steve came and visited me a few months ago as well. He had the idea to go to the Star Wars marathon together, and I would never want to pass up hanging with him, so he flew down and stayed in our spare room for a few days. We smoked a lot, burned through the marathon, geeking out at seeing the original trilogy and the new movie on the big screen. It snowed, which he was really hoping for. It was actually serendipitous that snow fell the exact amount of days he was here. I tried to make him feel as welcome as he makes me. I'm excited to see him again.

It was actually a poignant moment, dropping him off at the airport. The last time we said goodbye, in Seattle, we both suddenly teared up right as we hugged and I got in the car. This time was a bit more lighthearted, both of us in cheery spirits the car ride over. We parked the car, gathered his bags, and walked through the garage to the automatic check-in. Since it was the middle of December, it wasn't out of place to hear a very pious, but beautiful hymn coming from the bottom floor towards the gate. Steve grabbed his ticket and we made our way to the source and found a choir of what looked like fundamental youths. The volume was incredibly impressive, with their voices combining with the acoustics of the airport. They stood right underneath the oculus of the upper floor, so the music amplified upward, like the sound hole of a guitar. As thy sang, we hugged and said our goodbyes, and I hung back and watched him make his way through security, before waving as he walked towards the gates.

It was touching, and I even chuckled when I pondered if I'd feel particularly blessed if I believed in anything they were singing about. Still, I appreciated how beautiful the moment was.

6:53 p.m. - 2016-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi