christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mortality Ashes

My band has been on hiatus for about five weeks, and my attitude about it has gone from moderate annoyance, to anxious speculation. For the first time, I'm wondering what the future is going to be. Our drummer, Brandon, was diagnosed with arthritis at a really young age, which puts a hindrance on his percussion as one could imagine. Now, it's his shoulder. The cartilage is gone, and it's looking like he might need surgery. The problem, he won't get (or isn't looking for) a straight answer. Until then, no jams... no shows.

His ambivalence towards the whole thing is what gives me worries. Are we gonna just wait around for the word, until we eventually just dissolve into every other failed metal band in Boise? The only communications between the bandmates are actually between me and Eric, as the both of us are trying to teach his friend, Sean, the guitar parts to our songs so that he could be a backup, or possible replacement for Kort if his family life gets too chaotic. We've spent a lot of time going over new riffs and revisiting old ones, so much so that I decided I could't handle the lack of productivity. I invited Trevor and Brandon to come to the next guitar meetup so we could discuss a temp drummer. I worry that Bran will take it the wrong way, though he was perfectly fine with the Sean/Kort sitch, so maybe it'll blow over peacefully.

Meanwhile, Eric and Sean suggested I learn bass parts for their band My Sexy Assassin, since Eric actually fronts with Guitars. They're both extremely talented musicians, so them asking really flatters me. I'm going to give it a shot, considering Mortal's current hiatus.

I've also ran into Danny the other day. It's been a few years since I've seen him. Maybe once since the Clipped Wing days. We briefly caught up and talked about what musical interests and ventures we were into at the time. Right now, he's working on his own music, independent of other musicians. I asked him to send me what he had and I'd give him my take. After a couple days he did, and I like it. We met up again after that, talked a bit more about maybe getting together and writing some music. I don't know, something about closing doors and opening windows...

On the downside, he told me his brother Rob, the guy who taught me how to drive manual transmission a few entries back, is actually down in the hole right now. Sometimes, I forget how easy it is for people's lives to end up in such diverse and unpredictable destinations.

Got to learn to be more thankful.

I saw Mike last Saturday at the Whiskey Bar in Boise for his birthday. Didn't get to stay long, but got to bullshit over drinks, and now I'm taking him to breakfast this weekend. He's thirty now.

Heheh

11:03 p.m. - 2016-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi