christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It ain't my fault that I'm out here getting loose, gotta blame it on the Goose, gotta blame it on my Juice, baby...

I've developed a bad habit of buying musical instruments and gear, thinking that I'm just preparing for all the songs on the horizon between MSA and Mortal, but I'm probably just spending money to feel better. I mean, it's kind of worked. I got my Warwick Corvette in yesterday, and it slaps so hard, I couldn't help but smile as I thumbed through some Victor Wooten licks. Lately, Charlie, Eric and I have been jamming our typical instruments we usually play, but when we first started toying with these song foundations, I was actually playing keys and/or bass while Eric worked with bass and/or guitar. It's possible our roles won't be set in stone, and instead be dictated by where our strengths best service the song itself, so a pro series bass is probably a good investment. At least I hope.

We're inviting a gal to come hang at the next practice and sing, somebody that Eric had met previously. He showed me a video of her performing, and she seems legit, but it's also hard to gauge off of one two minute example, and sometimes the talent can present while the chemistry with the other members is absent, so a casual mingle and jamming of the songs feels appropriate. Especially since the three of us still don't entirely know what we're doing with these tunes that are far from the norm we usually play. At least we have our covers. Last week, we covered Lizzo, and it was glorious.

Hailey and I went to the doctors for an ultrasound, and sure enough, I have another child along the way. Thankfully, just the one. Now, I'm trying to figure out when the appropriate time to get a vasectomy would be this year. I don't want to be sofa ridden with a swollen sack while Hailey's miserable approaching her third trimester, so I guess that leaves late spring/early summer. Crazy to think I had accepted and prepared myself for a life without children while I was with Starla, and now I have enough kids that I'm trying to put a permanent stop to it.

Strangely enough, my ex-wife messaged me out of nowhere late last week, telling me she was looking at her ankle tattoo (a profile of Yoshi she got to represent me) and thanked me for our time together. It was so unexpected, and yet that kindness of reaching out was exactly what I needed. We exchanged a few texts back and forth, talking about work and what we were doing with our free time.

I got to watch Sophie play with the neighborhood kids for the first time, and I could tell she was ecstatic. Between online school due to the pandemic, and her... joyful intensity that some children find off-putting, she hasn't had a lot of interaction with other kids. So, getting to play with a boy and girl from down the street in our front yard was, to her, like winning the lottery. She's constantly looking out the window to see if they're out there playing, hoping to hastily slip on her shoes and run and join them. It's cute.

Ya ya ee

5:42 a.m. - 2021-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

naima101
littleafrob
hey-mike-e
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi
shoelacepunk