christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Buy the ticket, take the ride.

The more and more I see that young-for-politics-but-old-for-cougars face of Sarah Palin, I become more and more cold and distant to what she has to say. This has nothing to do with her family, as I've always felt that what happens in a person's personal life does not affect politics. Just look at Clinton's two terms, he was a cheating husband but a kick ass president. Though I do feel she's trying to exploit her own family issues for publicity, ultimately what goes on in her home is not what's important. What is important are the contradicting statements she makes regarding her positions, her side-step of questions, and her overall lack of... not being a psychotic hockey mom. Incredibly scary woman.

She speaks about her ability to help lead this country, despite not having the experience or credentials for doing so. She justifies this by saying a good leader doesn't have to have a fat resume. But isn't this the same criticism of Barack? He's dismissed because of his short career in politics, but doesn't her justification also help Obama's case? He's only been campaigning for president about as long as she's been governor of Alaska.

She believes that Russia needs to be reprimanded for what she calls an unprovoked invasion of Georgia. As I don't support Russia's diplomacy, this idea she has contradicts... or at least sets herself up for ridicule for her support in "excercising all options in order to stop the terrorists who are hellbent on destroying America and our allies." It just seems a little hypocritical to punish a country for unexpected invasion, when she supports going across the boarder of a country with or without the approval of that government. Granted, she also thinks she understands foreign policy with Russia, because geographically, she lives near the country. Frankly, I don't want to support anyone who can declare the war in Iraq as a "task from God". What gives her the right to speak for him?

Republicans are continuing to use the same old phrases as before to persuade the american public that they will make this country an invisible, impenetrable shield of patriotism that will render us invincible. I believe that this year we'll see an improvement of voter turnouts, and hopefully bring an actual sense of democracy to the elections. Sure our vote isn't the electoral college vote, but our voice can be heard. My voice is shouting for Obama.

It makes me wonder about the literary hero and gonzo journalist, Hunter S. Thompson. What would he have to say about election year and it's candidates? A little amusing statement for sure, and perhaps just a bit of wisdom hidden behind his anarchist personality. It is a shame he committed suicide, because I'm sure his voice would be well appreciated by many.

I'm sitting at work listening to the brilliance of Tom Waits, and I feel a sense of eudaemonia for some recent achievements I've been able to make. For instance, I've achieved the realization that I will never fully grow up. And that is something that fills my heart with hope for the rest of my life. I've come to understand that most things are not under my control, and that sense of vulnerability puts a slight relief on me. I feel comforted. And that's not the Lexapro talking.

It's the day after 9/11. I've realized that I've never really written an issue addressing the events that transpired seven years ago. And I think the reason is because it doesn't need to be mentioned. There's really nothing that I could add to pay respect or better portray the feelings of honor or cynicism or what have you. I find it unfortunate that it has become an event of exploitation for politics, but... I guess the United States wants to make sure that nobody forgets what happened. I think America underestimates the mourning side of it's citizens. But still, to all that has been lost... RIP.

The Large Hadron Collider had it's first run a couple of days ago... and we are still here. Celebration is in order. Though there was an obsessive-compulsive, yet small fear of an upcoming doomsday, we've found that a remarkable achievement in science has been made... or a complete waste of time. Regardless, it's exciting. Think of it, we can better understand our universe, or at the very least see what happens when atoms collide together. The catholics are going to spontaneously combust.

I hate country music. So much so, that it makes me prejudice against country music fans. I find myself actually seething and fuming whenever I hear that twang of country guitar, or that redneck bellow of Toby Keith, or Carrie Underwood. I know that everyone has the right to their own musical taste, and I know that this is coming from a fan of thrash and death metal, but fuck... I really can't take it. A person actually loses XP in my book if I discover they willingly listen to said ear poison.

I've actually made another miraculous achievement. It would make Tiger Woods jealous. My golf skills have become increasingly adequate as the condor's and albatross' I've acquired prove my stats. No matter how hard the course, I step up and sink them putts ever oppurtunity that passes. It won't be long before I've conquered every level on my Mini Golf 99 holes cell phone game.

As weeks pass, I become more and more interested in writing down specific memories I can remember about my life. I think it will happen soon, but I have to find myself in the right mood. Memories like confusing a girl by discussing the color of her aura, or enjoying my first swim in an ocean. Memories of me playing guitar in front of a bored audience for the first time, or having sex in the back of a small car and fogging up the windows. Maybe I'll even just write down these memories for myself, because life for everybody, especially me, has been very entertaining.

1:16 a.m. - 2008-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi