christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our Pitiful Fifteen Year Old Selves

Another episode up on libsyn, and this time with a fun chiptune intro I found by a band name 2NRO8OT. I'm hoping to use different music each episode, and hopefully the creative commons license will protect me. I tried emulating an intro track with the software I have, but I found the effort too taxing. These mornings at the end of the shift have made me feel out of gas as of late, so I didn't have any energy to be creative.

Little by little, I've been working on the outline for the novel I hope to write someday. Using this "snowflake method" from some author, I've made slowly seeded a plot and character in interesting increments. I haven't thought about what I'd do once I wrote it, considering I don't know if I even have an interest in anybody reading it. Except, maybe Starla. I've been more critical of myself than I have in the past, something I regret as some of the projects I used to work on deserved some real criticism.

I remember being in Elegy after high school and starting a Myspace account for the group. On the profile were songs from a performance we had done at the bandshell in Caldwell. Naturally, I felt proud and excited for the public to listen to the jams, thinking it would help boost our reputation. Well, as everybody knows, the band was a very large rip off Dave Matthews Band, and a particular website devoted to said band, antsmarching.org actually did mention the Myspace account. This conversation thread was then referenced in a Myspace fan group for DMB and created more buzz. I can't exactly remember how I came to that thread, other than being apart of the Myspace DMB group, but the topic I found wasn't as pleasing as I had hoped. Instead, we were lambasted to the upmost extreme for being a ripoff and poor musicians at that. Particularly, my singing was very much ridiculed, and even Becky's playing was criticized, though I thought that wasn't true. Out of the four of us members, Becky and Brett were both unbelievable musicians, and we were lucky to play with them.

It was so condemning reading the hate on a website, and I remember wanting to end the band then and there. But in reality, all the criticisms (aside from Becky's) were completely true. It's part of the humor I have when I rip on Elegy for being a retarded DMB cover band cover band. And moving away to Texas and living with that embarassment helped me learn to write new material that was original and more fun to play. So while Elegy was a disaster, and the demo we recorded definitely proves that, it was a necessary failure to help mold me into a better musician.

5:50 a.m. - 2012-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi