christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Team Haymitch

For the past few weeks, I've been feeling unenthused when thinking about the band. I think part of it might be the fatigue I feel just thinking about getting Kort up to speed, which isn't a comment against his abilities. In fact, he's been picking up our songs very quickly and performing them with great accuracy. I mostly mean teaching him our songs, while knowing that we'll just have to teach another bassist as soon as we find one that would be full time. Kort offered to play with us full time, but admitted that his first priority would be his other band, which I don't blame, but also cannot relent to. Also, I've run out of steam playing these same songs over and over again, knowing that what I really want to do is write. We've finished one new song, and are about to finish another, but I know that's going to be it for a while, because Trevor doesn't like to move too fast. It's possible he doesn't want to rush through lyric writing, which I understand... but I guess I just like pushing ourselves to new areas.

Steve and I got together to podcast on Saturday, talking about our favorite video game music. After it was all said and done, I found out that I fucked up the input setting and the entire thing recorded off of the laptop's microphone as opposed to our mixer. I think it's still salvagable, but it ultimately is a disappointment. We'll just have to try again next time. Dave was going to join us as a guest, but I guess he was to hungover to join us. Next time perhaps.

The Hunger Games did me over. I was sucked up into the world, and turned each page with an anxious need for more while reading all three books. I was loving everything that I was reading, with very little complaints. Then I come across the last forty pages. It hits you in the gut and turns into a bleak view of achievement. I kept reading thinking to myself, this must be a hallucination or dream... this can't be how this is really ending, but as I turned the pages, I found myself getting closer and closer to the end without a reprieve. I finished the last sentence with a bitter taste in my mouth, thinking I had devoted my emotions to these characters and story... for this.

I don't mind miserable endings, but I guess I'd rather have them shelled out over an extra hundred pages, as opposed to fucking me in my face and then leaving me instantly. I don't know why I'm caring so much about a young adult novel. Perhaps I need to further read other available books to wash this distress out of my mouth.

Cheers.

7:39 p.m. - 2012-04-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

littleafrob
hey-mike-e
naima101
mamaloza
slim1
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
camiandvol-2
sundance-99
talkingmoon
drdavin
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
punkigurli
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
bagelbite
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
namerman
oralboy
myagi
princesjazmo
nelapsi