christ666's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When you need a friend, don't look to a stranger

I turned 37 on Tuesday. I spent my birthday with my kids and Heather, made a chicken parm for dinner, and Heather brought cupcakes that she made for me from scratch. She also gifted me a vintage Batman poster from 1989 that had caught my interest when her and I went to the Antique World Mall together a couple of weeks ago. The kids got me a toy batmobile, and Sophie made me a homemade card that she drew depicting me in a dog costume. :)

Last night, Heather took me out to dinner for tacos at Matador, then we went to Spacebar for beer and video games, burning through nearly $20 in tokens beating Sunset Riders, one of my favorite arcades of all time. There was a moment while we were playing when I turned to look at her, and she smiled back at me, her face painted blue and pink from the soft glows of the neon lights on the walls and the CRT monitor from the machine, all while "The Promise" by When in Rome boomed through the sound system. It was the kind of moment you take a mental snapshot of, something I've been experiencing a lot of lately.

Mortal got a last minute show booked opening for Atheist in a couple of weeks, leaving only two or three practices to prepare, but pulling off things in a pinch is not exactly our forte. I had been feeling antsy about the band not playing for a while, especially with the charity show done and over with, and I was so disappointed with that performance (which I'll recap another time) that I've been anxious for another shot to perform for Heather where I don't embarrass myself. However, it's been three months since Mortal played together, and the short time to practice doesn't give me a lot of confidence that I'll redeem myself. I will say our first practice was yesterday, and while it was rusty as fuck, it wasn't nearly as awful as I thought it was going to be, so hopefully a miracle will happen and everyone will be up to snuff.

6:32 a.m. - 2023-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

browndamask
shoelacepunk
jimbostaxi
tinea
bantenhut
loveherwell
oralboy
naima101
littleafrob
hey-mike-e
slim1
mamaloza
obliviusgurl
toddbooboo
punkigurli
drdavin
sundance-99
camiandvol-2
olydux
shwroder
twistedtears
bagelbite
earnest-dunn
camiand
ramoman
allmytears
kibitzer
t-gnosis
nelapsi
namerman
myagi
talkingmoon
princesjazmo